Tuesday, October 16, 2012

Review of the 'Three Lost Kids Trilogy' by Kimberly Kinrade

Welcome to the tour for the Three Lost Kids by Kimberly Kinrade!

Join award-winning author Kimberly Kinrade for the month of October to celebrate Halloween and All Hallow's Read with a big giveaway for her launch of The Three Lost Kids & The Death of the Sugar Fairy.

What's All Hallow's Read? Author Neil Gaiman started this tradition a few years ago as a way to encourage the act of giving a book for Halloween. 

Today's stop on the tour features the original trilogy in the series.

About The Three Lost Kids

The first three books in this series (Lexie World, Bella World and Maddie World) were inspired by Kimberly's three little girls of the same name, who discovered their own worlds where they had magical powers and wanted their mom to write about it!

This special edition trilogy includes full color illustrations and each book is told from the first person perspective of that little girl's world. The paperback editions of these books are 7x10 full color with a coloring book in the back of each. They also include discussion questions to get kids and parents talking about the important themes in each book, such as caring for the planet, emotional maturity and handling bullies.

In The Death of the Sugar Fairy, the Three Lost Kids start a whole new series of chapter books, told from all three kids' point of view. Moving forward, the series will not include illustrations, but will include the same fantastic stories that have made the special edition trilogy so popular.

About The Three Lost Kids Special Edition Trilogy

Lexie World

On Amazon
(a finalist in the Global e-Books award!)

5-year-old Lexie is tired of getting in trouble for leaving her stuff and trash outside. She doesn’t mean to litter or ruin her shoes, but it’s just so hard to remember sometimes.

When she, her two big sisters and their dog TayTay find a portal to Lexie World, Lexie discovers the consequence littering has had on her special world. Garbage Goblins have taken over and are destroying the Earth!

To save Lexie World, the girls (and TayTay) must travel with their new Unicorn friend through the Waters of Waste and over the Mountain of Lost Clothes to retrieve a piece of the Mirror of Ice in order to remind the Garbage Goblins of their true form and break their curse.

On this journey, Lexie learns about courage, love and the importance of taking care of her world.

Bella World

On Amazon

Bella is tired of getting blamed every time her sisters lose something. It's not her fault they misplaced something important, so why does everyone assume she took it? It makes her blood boil that no one appreciates all the things she does to help and protect people. Sometimes her anger makes her do things she regrets later.

When she, her two sisters, and their dog TayTay find a watery portal to Bella World, they're surprised to discover a town ravaged by Dragon attacks. But not all is as it seems, a lesson Bella learns when they are sent to stop the Dragon.

Together, Bella and Emerald the Dragon learn to control their Dragon Fire, make amends to those they have wronged, and in the process find the appreciation and acceptance they'd sought all along.

Maddie World

On Amazon

When a girl at school starts bullying Madelynne, she decides she doesn't want to go to school anymore. Too scared to stand up to the bully or tell the teacher, Madelynne confides in the only one who will understand, her best four-legged friend TayTay.

After an especially bad day, Madelynne hides in her room and refuses to play with anyone. In an effort to cheer her up, her sisters accidently discover the portal to Maddie World, sweeping them all into an epic adventure!

But Maddie World is suffering from some bullying of its own. The Lava Fairies and Bubble Fairies are at war, and now even once nice Fairies have been mean bullies, locking the Three Lost Kids up in the dungeon.

Madelynne and TayTay escape, but can't free the other two until the retrieve a precious necklace that once belonged to the Bubble Fairies.

To save her sisters and make peace between the two Fairy factions, Madelynne must first face her own fears and learn to stand up for herself even when she's scared, but without becoming a bully herself.

**My thoughts**

I thought this series was absolutely adorable! I especially love how each book was inspired by each child's fantasy world and dreams. That in and of itself makes the books special, as each girl now has a keepsake to remember their childhood dreams. It could easily inspire other children to create their own worlds and to make them into books.

Each book has its own lesson. In Lexie's World, Lexie learns the importance of taking care of the Earth and the environment by keeping her things picked up. She also learns a lesson of independence and how she can do anything she sets her mind to. Bella's story helps kids to remember to control their anger. Maddie's story is another much-needed lesson in handling bullying, which is way too prevalent today.

As I read these books, I tried to decide if I would read them with my class of 4s and 5s in the afternoon. I think these books would be best handled at that age in a one-on-one setting, or a very small group. They really lend themselves to many discussions, especially in the later two books. They're also just fun fantasy stories. Older children will enjoy reading them on their own. I look forward to checking out the rest of the upcoming books in the series!

Enter the Three Lost Kids Giveaway!

The giveaway includes:

$25 Amazon GC plus signed copy of all four books (Lexie's World, Belle's World, Maddie's World, Sugar Fairy} bookmarks and surprise swag include one of the posters and bookmark {USA/Canada Only}

RUNNERUP to two winners:
Signed copies of The Death of the Sugar Fairy with swag {USA/Canada Only}

RUNNERUP to three winners:
Poster of The Sugar Fairy cover and bookmarks

Simply enter the Rafflecopter below. Please be sure to completely follow each step for a valid entry. Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Disclaimer: Andi's Middle Grade and Chapter Books did not receive any compensation other than free ecopies of each book in the trilogy. All opinions in the review are my own. This blog is not responsible for prize shipment.

No comments:

Post a Comment